Fortin du Petit-Sault (Petit-Sault Blockhouse)
PROVINCIAL HERITAGE PLACE
Climb the stairs and enter a blockhouse like one of many that existed in the early days of the country’s colonization.
Built by the British army in 1841, the fort was in a strategic position to protect the territory at the height of the boundary dispute between England and the United States. That conflict, also known as the “Bloodless Aroostook War,” ended in 1842 with the signing of the Ashburton-Webster Treaty, which designated the Saint John River
as the boundary between Maine and New Brunswick.
After its short career, the fort was abandoned and then destroyed by lightning in 1855. It was authentically rebuilt in 2000 as a historic interpretation site.
Discover the Petit-Sault Blockhouse in the company of a friendly guide and actors who will explain the daily lives of the soldiers who lived there long ago. Its 3 floors house interesting artefacts such as accessories of war, archival photos and topographical maps.
Peep through the window openings and you’ll appreciate the breathtaking view from the fort, which dominates the Madawaska and Saint John River valleys.