The Old (Loyalist) Burial Grounds

This area was set aside as a public ground in the original town plan (1783). In April 1848, it was closed to further burials by an Act of the Provincial Legislature. The grounds were restored by the Irving family in 1995 in memory of the late K. C. Irving (1899-1992), founder of the Irving empire of companies. Granite paver pathways, historic style lamps and a unique beaver fountain were added to revitalize this graveyard.