Nestled along the Petitcodiac River in southeast New Brunswick, Salisbury is only 25 km (16 mi.) from the city of Moncton and was first incorporated in 1947, and later incorporated as a village in 1966. Although there have been changes since the days when the 18th-century Yorkshire settlers first took up land here, the river and forests surrounding Salisbury still grace the horizon, much as they did in the early days. A significant amount of dairy farming and lumbering activity continues in the area today, as it has since the early 1900's.
In those long-ago days, Salisbury was once a centre of Silver-fox fur ranching, and in tribute to that animal and the history of the industry, a commemorative statue of a larger-than-life, Silver fox can be seen today at the junction of the Trans-Canada Highway and Highway 112, at the Salisbury Irving service centre. In the early part of the twentieth century, before the beginning of the animal rights movement, clothing made from animal skins or adorned with their fur, was very popular. The first fox farms in the area began between 1910 and 1913 and were so profitable that soon a number of other fox farms were also started. Within a few years, these area fox farms made up the largest group of fox ranches in the world, and the largest fox farm in Canada was the Colpitts Fox Ranch, about 8 km (5 mi.) from the village.
Today, this cozy little village is healthy and thriving, with 6 churches, 3 schools (elementary, middle and high school), banks, a volunteer fire department, an outdoor pool (heated), library and various businesses and shops, and is in close proximity to one of New Brunswick’s largest cities.